Post-show euphoria

EP release: ✓
First hometown show: ✓
Happy: ✓

Another small challenge that kept our hearts pumping and our heads spinning, at least for the last few weeks. So, our EP is out and I couldn’t be more pleased about how it turned out. I am getting a bit obsessive with the idea of having a plan and sticking to it, marking goals and putting small check marks next to achievements. It is something I never really did before, despite being in bands since I was 13. Now that I am an old fuck I know better and tend to drain all the pleasure potential out of breaking down dreams into realistic goals and then fulfilling them with passion. It certainly has something to do with growing up, that’s for sure.

So, our release date was actually my birthday, which was a happy coincidence or probably fate of sorts. Some months ago my main mate Angel at Amek Collective offered us to play a show with his band Leaver on Sept. 21th and also start a small tour from there. Well, the tour part fucked up for a number of reasons, but this Sofia gig happened, and it was good. A Rubicon of sorts.

Sofia is a small place and we pretty much know each other, so there is no real boundary between artist and audience. I prefer to see a glass half full in this case, and think of it as possibility to play for a circle of friends and affiliates rather than fans. Coming from a hardcore punk background makes me appreciate this way more. Gleeful as it may sound, this is also a huge challenge, so you probably get my excitement as well as my anxiety. Many people who showed up on the gig are aware of what I have done in the past with KPD-0 and other bands I played with, so I felt that the Feedbacker thing has to be different. Bigger. Better. Thorough. Raw & pure. Honest. Without compromise. 

Mount of Artan was pretty much testing the waters for me and Desi and it got us confident that we are on the right track. Recording made me realize what we actually sound like in a way that is not possible otherwise. Dealing with the whole release thing mostly by myself (with the precious and unquestionable help of my life partner Kristina) got me more involved with every single detail of our expression.

I put a lot of thought into what I want the release to look like, and I pictured a final product (as much as I hate to use exactly this word describing what we do) that fully embraces my thoughts and searches as of now. Probably that’s why I decided to deal with things I usually don’t have the balls to deal with – like cover designs and stuff. Once I started to actually get things done I understood why I actually do this. Once I looked at the finished and printed covers and inserts I actually saw what I have done. A sharp, contrast, monochrome image, filled with (dark) symbolism.


There is a story behind every single symbol that is on the front or inside our first EP. This recording has been really important for me, mostly because Feedbacker is what keeps me sane going through the pile of personal shit that 2016 got me. And Desi has been a fantastic band mate, going stronger with every step we make. I have to say that I am really not used to that level of acceptance and support of my creative ideas.

All in all, now we have a thing. An object. A release. Couple of tapes and CDs that we can show the world.

tape-all-bw

And this is what we did last Thursday. This gig holds a special place in my heart. Perfect organisation (kudos to Amek and Angel for that!), lovely bands and acts to share a stage with. Lot of friends and familiar faces in the crowd. Nice venue, probably my fave club in Sofia. I will spare my usual blabber on this one. Instead here’s some photos (courtesy of George and Velislav):

It took us almost a week to get our heads straight and realize the power of this special moment. Words are shallow and fragile and can not convey the gratitude we feel. Once again Amek showed us how it’s done! Their friendship, trust and support are truly a gift. We would like to thank Trysth, Leaver & Ivan Shopov for being brutal artists on stage and wonderful people in general. And personal thanks to every single person who came to the gig and to those who heard our EP and messaged us with kind words and support.

Here’s a video of our full set: 

Our next gigs are soon to be announced and yet this is another challenge, preceded by some months of hard work and preparations. We can hardly wait to break out about this. Stay tuned!

Shentov | Feedbacker

Leave a Reply

